anne nakis: ocean

Page Sixty

sehnen posted on Jun 19, 2008 | views: 77 | Tags: enormous snaily rocksx

thurs 19 june 2008   Greenfield

A message for the unnamed one:

~~~   Bill and I pulling periwinkles off the rocks in Maine, but you didn’t know us yet. We took them home and ate them. No one else would touch them…. by the sea, by the sea, by the beautiful sea, you and I, you and I, oh how happy we’ll be… do you remember that gaggy old song? ~~~

                                                                     

Update 6 July 2009: This is another one of those private messages I’m not going to explain. I’ll say, though, that I spent 32 years of my life by the sea. I never should have come to Franklin County; that’s way too clear, way too late. Because whether you believe I had one horror last year (being made homeless and losing everyone I love) or two (being in undercover federal protection), either way it’s still enough to make me deeply and darkly regret I ever left eastern Mass.

 ~~  website  ~~~                                                                                                                 

        (crab at www.toscano.com)

               ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

                       ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 ~~~~~~~   sea shell from a magazine

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

a href=”http://twitter.com/share” data-count=”none” data-via=”annegrace2″ data-related=”ziidjian:outre tweeting”>Tweet</a><script type=”text/javascript” src=”http://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js”></script

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2 Comments

  1. Babs said,

    July 6, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    The sea nourishes us in so many ways. We can eat it’s inhabitants, swim in it’s coolness, meditate on it’s vastness. But I think that mostly it is the setting for our better memories, even the words “by the sea” immediately set the stage for scenes of blue tranquility. To be so far from the blessing of a sea breeze on this hot day must feel like being in exile.

  2. braon said,

    July 13, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    I miss it terribly, believe me, for 24 years.


Leave a Reply

